Welcome to Hervás!

Hello friends and family! This is my first blog post in what I hope will be many over the next year while I’m living in Plasencia, Extremadura and teaching in Hervás in Spain!

I’ve only been here for about a week and a half, and while adjusting has been both exciting and emotional, I’m very content to be here.  Since I miss my boyfriend, my family, and my friends so much, I thought it would be helpful to blog about some of my experiences and share some of my favorite photos on this website.  That way, I can express the millions of thoughts and ideas that are running through my head at any given time while I’m in Spain, and you can all hopefully see what I’m up to.

So, I’ve chosen to live in Plasencia, a town of about 40,000 people while I teach in the beautiful pueblo of Hervás, which has a population of about 4,000.  So far I’ve made some wonderful friends from the U.S., Spain, France, and Ireland with whom I’m excited to spend the next year.  I’ve visited the instituto (high school), where I will have classes on Mondays, Tuesdays, and Thursdays.  I’ve already started classes at the colegio (primary school) where I will work on Wednesdays.  So far, the children and teachers are extremely wonderful, and I can tell that it will be a great teaching environment.  I’m excited to dive in and start learning alongside all of them.

Today, we finally got a break from the rain and I had a chance to wander around Hervás in my free time, just taking it in and taking as many pictures as I could.  The town is nestled in the mountains and is extremely beautiful, with an interesting Jewish quarter and very typically Spanish winding, quiet streets.  I could spend hours just walking around or having some coffee and tapas at one of the little cafes in Hervás.  Sometimes, I’m already a little sad that I didn’t choose to make this town my home, since everybody is very welcoming and friendly.  On the other hand, Plasencia has a little more to do on the weekends and is easier to travel from, which is important to me.

So, here are some photos of Hervás from today…enjoy!

ImageImage

Image

ImageImageImageImageImageImageImage

9 thoughts on “Welcome to Hervás!

  1. Great pics. Looking forward to your bogs and really looking forward to visiting you. These pics are a great way to lure your potential visitors.

  2. Very cool, Jenny! I hope you don’t mind that your mom shared your blog with me. She knows I am especially interested in your travels because my son, a UIC freshman, is looking at Spain as a possible study abroad destination. Don’t freak out if he also turns up as a follower. 🙂

    Safe travels and have fun!

Leave a Reply

